This is a delightfully peaceful and serene church in an equally charming village complete with a superb mellow stone manor house of C15. There is good evidence to suggest that there has probably been a church on this site for more than a thousand years. However, the first recorded Rector arrived in 1315 and the present building dates from a re-build in 1480. Subsequently, a chantry chapel was added by William Lange, who died in 1524. It was subsequently restored in 1896 and again in 1955.
There is a most impressive and attractive Jacobean pulpit with a hexagonal tester above. The pews have been fashioned from timber salvaged from the destruction of the C18 box pews. The chancel was re-built in 1731 and the nave in 1883. Note the very fine timber work above. The font is C15 with a later cover.
The Trust gratefully acknowledges images and text by Robin Adeney ©